Zsa Zsa Padilla and Marvin Agustin, Best Actor and Actress at 24th Luna – FAP Awards
Text and photos by Oliver Carnay

Big winners at the recent 24th Luna Awards - Zsa Zsa Padilla and Marvin Agustin.

Producers of 24th Luna Awards - the husband and wife team Romnick Sarmenta and Harlene Bautista of Elephant Eight Productions.

Zsa Zsa Padilla (Regal Films’ “Ako, Legal Wife”) and Marvin Agustin (Canary Films’ “Kutob”) won top honors, best actress and best actor respectively, at the recent 24th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines , held on Saturday, September 16, 2006 . The event was held at the Pagcor Grand Theatre Casino Filipino in Parañaque City , which was planned and elegantly presented by Romnick Sarmenta and Harlene Bautista’s Eight Elephant Productions, directed by Mr. Al Quinn.

Celebrity guests don in Filipiniana motif earned more prestige and glamour as stars paraded on red carpet (most excellent were Fanny Serrano’s creation of barong for Eddie Garcia, and gowns for Claudine Barretto, Jolina Magdangal --one colorful tribal and a black and white zarzuela, Cherie Gil, and Racquel Villavicencio. Arrivals at the red carpet was anchored by Giselle Tongi and John Lapuz. The well-paced two and a half –hour show was under the leadership of actor Leo Martinez.

“Blue Moon,” a story of an old patriarch who is searching for his lost prewar childhood sweetheart, won Best Picture, produced by Regal Films. It also won Best Director for Joel Lamangan, Best Cinematography for L.A.-based Allan Tejano, and Best Musical Score for Von de Guzman.

Star Cinema’s “Nasaan Ka Man” won Best Supporting Actress for Hilda Koronel (who was absent), Best Cinematography for Charlie Peralta, Best Editing for Maria Ignacio, and Best Sound for Addis Tabong.

Johnny Delgado received the Best Supporting Award for his performance in Unitel Pictures’ “La Visa Loca.” Richard Somes got the Best Production Design for Imus Production’s “Exodus.”

The late Fernando Poe, Jr. was bestowed with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Other posthumous awards were given to Nida Blanca (accepted by a tearful Caridad Sanchez), and composer-film musical scorer George Canseco, presented by National Artists for film, Eddie Romero.

Among top stars seen at the event were Maricel Soriano, Boots Anson Roa, Eddie Gutierrez, Barbara Perez, Gina Alajar, and many others. Talents who provided entertainment were Gino Padilla, Rannie Raymundo, Grace Nono, and Joey Ayala.