WE ARE THE MODS big winner at 27th Los Angeles Gay and Lesbian Filmfest
“We Are The Mods” - Big Winner at Outfest 2009 Awards

By Oliver Carnay

Photo: From the film "We Are The Mods" cast member Melia Renee and Lance Drake, with writer-director E.E.Cassidy.

Writer/Director - E.E. Cassidy’s first feature film, “We Are The Mods” claimed three major awards during the Awards winner announcement for the 27th annual Los Angeles Gay and Lesbian Film Festival (also known as OUTFEST 2009 (which run July 9-19, 2009). The event, held on a brunch at Level 3 at Hollywood and Highlands, Sunday, July 19th, was hosted by Momma.

The film won Cassidy’s Outfest 2009 Audience Award for Outstanding First U.S. Dramatic Feature Film (sponsored by HBO with cash prize of $5,000), Outfest 2009 Grand Jury Award for Outstanding Screenwriting (sponsored by One Hope Wines), and Outfest 2009 Audience Award for Outstanding Soundtrack. (I would give the “Best Clothing Designer" Award“ to whoever the costume designer of the movie--- colorful and stylish ‘60’s retro outfits used in the movie).

The film tells about a naïve high school student Sadie (played by Melia Renee), an upcoming photographer who becomes infatuated with the eccentric mod chic Nico (Mary Elise Hayden), both eventually embracing the subculture’s natty fashion scenes, vintage scooters and soul music, and discovering their very complicated female friendship and identity. Hayden conveys such great onscreen presence alongside the very photogenic Renee. Newcomer Lance Drake (plays Treg) takes a good supporting role in his first feature film acting debut.

Other winners on the list are the following: For Outfest 2009 Grand Jury Awards, Tina Mabry’s Mississippi Damned (Outstanding U.S. Dramatic Film); Nicole Opper’s Off And Running (Outstanding Documentary Feature Film); The Bath, directed by Le Mi-rang (Outstanding Dramatic Short Film); First and Loveliss, directed by Shaun Kadlec & Deb Tullman (Outstanding Documentary Short Film); The Man Who Loved Yngve, directed by Stian Kristiansen (Outstanding International Dramatic Feature Film); Laura Harring took the Jury Award for Outstanding Actress in a Feature Film for her role in Drool while Derrick L. Middleton received the Jury Award for Outstanding Actor in a Feature Film for his role in Rivers Wash Over Me.

For Outfest 2009 Special Programming Awards: Glenne McElhinney On These Shoulders We Stand won the Special Programming Award For Freedom, while the Special Programming Award For Artistic Achievement went to Andrew Haigh’s Greek Pete. The Outfest 2009 Special Programming Award for Emerging Talent went to George O’Donnell College Boys Live.
In the Audience Awards category, Nacho G Velilla’s Chef’s Special won the Outstanding Dramatic Feature Film; Outstanding Documentary Feature Film went to Edie & Thea: A Very Long Engagement by Greta Olafsdottir and Susan Muska.

In the shorts categories, Christian Tafdrup’s Awakening took Outstanding Dramatic Short and Mark Payne’s Get Happy took the Outstanding Documentary Short.

For more information, please log on to www.Outfest.org

Photos: cast and crew of EATING OUT 3: ALL YOU CAN EAT

This author with stars from Fox's tv series 'GLEE' (top) Chris Colfer and Cory Monteith during Outfest 2009 special screening and panel discussion.