17th Edition of HOLLYSHORTS FILM FESTIVAL to return at TCL Chinese Theaters in Hollywood September 23 to October 1st , 2021.

By Oliver Carnay

The Oscar-Qualifying® HOLLYSHORTS FILM FESTIVAL is returning in a major way for its 17th edition. Today, the festival organizers have announced the dates for this year’s short film extravaganza, which has emerged as one of the world’s biggest and most prestigious short film festivals. The festival has hosted A-list talent and filmmakers for 17 years including Anthony Russo, Debra Messing, Oscar Isaac, Cee-Lo Green, Patton Oswalt, Effie Brown, Dane Cook, Yolonda Ross, Jennifer Morrison, Michael Ealy, Tyrese Gibson, Melissa Benoist, Francia Raisa, Janina Gavankar, Phoebe Tonkin, Ed Westwick, and Jackson Lewis Lee, among many others.

HollyShorts will take place in-person September 23-30, 2021 at the TCL Chinese Theaters in Hollywood, with the annual, star-studded Awards Gala set to take place on October 1, 2021. 

The festival will once again offer a streaming option for fans around the world via its proprietary platform BITPIX https://bitpixtv.com/, making 2021 the first time in HollyShorts’ 17 year history a hybrid event. Born out of the Oscar® Qualifying HollyShorts Film Festival, Bitpix is a new Premium AVOD platform, featuring the world’s best short films. The platform is already live in alpha mode and available via Bitpixtv.com. Bitpix is streamed through the app for download on Airplay, Amazon Fire TV, Android, Android TV, AppleTV, Chromecast, IOS, Roku.

The festival winners and honorees who celebrated virtually in 2020 are being invited to attend this year’s special in-person gathering. The 2020 edition of HollyShorts saw a record-breaking seven Oscar nominees and two winning alumni films. Those alumni included:

Winner – Best Live Action Short:

Two Distant Strangers directed by Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe

Winner – Best Animated Short:

If Anything Happens I Love You directed by Will McCormack and Michael Govier

Nominated – Best Live Action Short:

Feeling Through directed by Doug Roland 

The Letter Room directed by Elvira Lind 

The Present directed by Farah Nabulsi

White Eye directed by Tomer Shushan 

Nominated – Best Documentary Short: 

Hunger Ward directed by Skye Fitzgerald 

For more information visit: hollyshorts.com