Filipino film “ASOG” won this year’s Outfest GRAND JURY PRIZE FOR SCREENWRITING, International Narrative Feature –screenplay by Seán Devlin, Jaya (Rej Andrade), and Arnel Pablo

By Oliver Carnay

The festival opened with Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, directed by Aitch Alberto, and closed with Chasing Chasing Amy, directed by Sav Rodgers. For the first time in Outfest’s LGBTQ+ Summer Film Festival history both the Opening and Closing night films were made by trans artists, underlining the deep roster of trans, non-binary, and intersex talent working in the entertainment industry as well as the diversity of trans storytelling at this moment in history.
This year’s festival honored filmmaker Andrew Ahn with their Outfest Achievement Award, Melissa McCarthy and Ben Falcone with the James Schamus Ally Award, actor/producer/ musician Amandla Stenberg with their Platinum Maverick Award, electronic music icon and activist Madame Gandhi with their Platinum Alchemy Award, and presented Karine Jean-Pierre with their inaugural Outfest Achievement Award for Press and Media.
This inaugural Achievement Award for Press and Media is the organization’s highest honor and celebrates the representation of the LGBTQ+ community in the media. The award comes as Outfest makes new investments in journalism for the first time with the Outfest Inclusive Press Initiative, the first ever press initiative explicitly for LGBTQ+ entertainment journalists.
The program offers emerging film critics, broadcasters and other journalists unrestricted access to cover the Outfest Los Angeles LGBTQ+ Film Festival while receiving a stipend and mentorship from journalists at media outlets including Reuters, The New York Times, The Hollywood Reporter , KABC-TV and more.
Here is the complete list of 2023 OUTFEST winners:
Outfest Los Angeles 2023 Award Winners
Grand Jury Awards
The Paul D. Lerner and Stephen Reis Grand Jury Award for Documentary Feature: Anhell69, directed by Theo Montoya
Documentary Feature Special Mention
Queendom, directed by Agniia Galdanova
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding North American Narrative Feature
Something You Said Last Night directed by Luis De Filippis
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding Performance, North American Narrative Feature
Isaac Krasner in Big Boys
Grand Jury Prize for Screenwriting, North American Narrative Feature
Sebastián Silva for Rotting in the Sun
North American Narrative Feature Special Mentions
Fancy Dance directed by Erica Tremblay
The People’s Joker directed by Vera Drew
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding International Narrative Feature
The Fabulous Ones directed by Roberta Torre
Grand Jury Prize for Screenwriting, International Narrative Feature
Asog, screenplay by Seán Devlin, Jaya, and Arnel Pablo
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding Performance, International Narrative Feature
Choi Hae-jun in Peafowl
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding International Narrative Short Film
An Avocado Pit directed by Ary Zara
International Narrative Short Special Mention
Christopher at Sea directed by Tom C J Brown
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding Documentary Short Film
Love, Jamie directed by Karla Murthy
Documentary Short Special Mention
Here, Hopefully directed by Hao Zhou
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding U.S. Narrative Short
Dilating for Maximum Results directed by Nyala Moon
U.S. Narrative Short Special Mention
As You Are directed by Daisy Friedman
Special Programming Awards
Presented by the senior Outfest programming team
Emerging Talent: Alice Maio Mackay, T Blockers
Artistic Achievement: Rumpelstiltskin directed by Ethan Fuirst
Social Impact: Truth Be Told directed by Nneka Onuorah
Hornitos First Shot Award
A History of Sitting in Waiting Rooms (or Whatever Longer Title You Prefer), directed by Lorena Russi